Gunny G: On Beer: Homebrewing…and “HomeBlending”… !!!

Beer: Brewing and Blending!

Bottom line on brewing beer for me is that I was an EXTRACT brewer, not a GRAIN brewer.
I was an extract brewer only–cans or packaged extract.
My own experience, opinions, conclusions, a short summary……
A 1-gallon Mr. Beer kit is as good as a 5-gallon bucket or bigger container.

In fact, the Mr Beer container/keg may be better for experimenting with numerous recipes, and/or if you just prefer smaller batches..

If you are a grain brewer, by all means BOIL your grain; but for extract brewers do NOT boil the extract itself. Rather, boil the water, then turn the flame off and add the extract to the already boiled water, and stir!

***

Re BOIL YOUR HOPS-NOT THE EXTRACT MALT !!!!!!!!!!

https://www.baderbrewing.com/content/boil-hops

***

Remember the old KISS Method: Keep It Simple, Stupid!

(My Motto: Simplicity and Continuity!)

*****

HOPS: I prefer to not boil the hops at all; just dry hop only.

Some of the above may seem contrary to what many of the “experts teach and write”
It is!
Myself, I have discarded much of the expert information out there. You may have noticed there are unlimited dos and don’ts among homebrewers. I have long since given up on any attempt to convince or argue the finer points of these things with anyone.
So much for homebrewing.

BLENDING BEER
I made the transition from home
brewer to Blender after many years on and off of home
brewing. My comments here are the gist of what I experienced and learned. I was never a grain brewer nor desired to be.

BLENDING!

What I call “blending” is simply mixing one beer (bottled, cans, etc,) with another.

When i discovered Kentucky Beer Bourbon Barrel Ale I thought I had found “my beer”!
i was right, but KBBA can also be used as a mix w/other beers, and it makes both beers better! my opinion, and maybe other beers can be used as a mix, too…???
I  discovered quite by accident of sorts that I could use KBBA as a “mix” with other beers, mostly pale ales or IPAs.
To me, this made some beers, which I later also used as a mix, better, as well as making both the mix and the added to beers better, for my tastes, anyway..
No, I do not recommend this for all hands, just saying,
this is my experience and my own likes and dislikes.
My beer experience is ever-changing….I even like ice in my beer sometimes, now.
*****
Col Sellin “MUST-READS!”
http://www.familysecuritymatters.org/authors/detail/lawrence-sellin
***
LewRockwell.com DAILY ARTICLES…
https://www.lewrockwell.com/
***
Dave Hodges Articles/Archives, Etc…
http://www.thecommonsenseshow.com/
***
B4.ITS.NEWS !!!!! Daily Articles, Etc…
http://www.thecommonsenseshow.com/
***

WND Daily…
http://www.wnd.com/

*****
*****

***** *****

*****
Gunny G Blogs…
*****

GunnyG.wordpress.com

Semper FIDELIS !!!!!
*****

THIS IS NOT A DRILL!
*****

About Gunny G

GnySgt USMC (Ret.) 1952--'72 PC: History, Poly-Tiks, Military, Stories, Controversial, Unusual, Humorous, etc.... "Simplify...y'know!"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

